//
you're reading...
Business, Diversity & Inclusion, Other

Thanksgiving 2016: Nine things I am thankful for

thanksgiving-pictures-what-are-you-thankful-for

We are just five short weeks away from closing out Calendar Year 2016. Tomorrow is Thanksgiving Day – an annual national holiday in North America that is marked by religious observances and a traditional meal including turkey. Add to the above football, shopping, and parades. The holiday commemorates a harvest festival celebrated by the Pilgrims in 1621, and is held in the U.S. on the fourth Thursday in November. A similar holiday is held in Canada, usually on the second Monday in October.

Given the events and activities to date for 2016, I felt compelled to create a short list of some items that I am thankful for:

  • That the 2016 presidential election is over!!! I struggled, at times, to avoid election fatigue. Despite many predictions that the earth would stop spinning on its axis if either the DEM or GOP candidate won, last time I checked, our orb on which we live is still rotating at its usual rate and angle of incline.
  • Each new day that appears on the horizon which provides an opportunity to correct mistakes from the previous day.
  • The lives of Leroy B. Brown, MD, and his wife, Ola Watson Brown, RN, my paternal uncle and aunt who both departed this life on June 2, 2016. Although they are no longer physically with us, their love and life lessons will live on in the hearts and lives of family members and so many others.
  • Being blessed with common sense, a flower that does not grow in everyone’s garden.
  • Some very special mentors and wise men and women who have appeared as needed throughout my life. The sharing of their life lessons and accumulated knowledge helped propel me tremendously beyond the lessons I either learned in school, on my own, or some class or workshop.
  • A few special family members and a handful of friends who are more concerned about me and my well-being than what they can get or take from me.
  • Small things! Without small things there would not be bigger things.

And two more:

  • I am thankful for my personal, professional, and spiritual journey. My life has not been a crystal staircase, and many of the paths and roads that I have had to travel would be called anything but smooth. I am who I am today because of all that I have experienced, learned, and overcome with all praises to God.
  • Last but not least, I am thankful that there are 364 additional days in each calendar year to give thanks and to say “thank you” to my Father God above, and to others on this earth.

For these and other things, I am truly thankful. Happy Thanksgiving!

[Post Note: If you liked this post, visit A Bridge for Business & STEM, for additional postings on a variety of topics.]

About Vi Brown

Vi is principal and CEO of Prophecy Consulting Group, LLC, an Arizona firm that provides business and engineering services to private and public clients. Prior to establishing her consulting practice in 2001, Vi worked with Motorola, Maricopa County Government, Pacific Gas & Electric, CH2M Hill, and Procter & Gamble. As an adjunct faculty member, Vi teaches undergraduate calculus classes and graduate level environmental courses. She is also a professional speaker.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

